University of Arizona Campus  •  March 14 - 15, 2015  •  9:30am to 5:30pm
Show sidebar contents

Save the date for 2016!

March 12-13, 2016 (9:30am - 5:30pm)
Not enabled. This article is no longer enabled in any section on the website. You may be viewing outdated information.

Deadline Extended!! 3rd Annual Tucson Festival of Books Literary Awards

Festival Staff / October 11, 2014

Submissions to the third annual Tucson Festival of Books Literary Awards Writing Competition will now be accepted through November 18, 2014!!

Entries are being accepted in three categories: fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. Winners will be honored at the 2015 Tucson Festival of Books March 14-15.

First-place winners in each category will receive $1,000. Second-place entries will receive $500, and third-place finishers receiving $250. All nine prize-winners will receive scholarships to the 2015 TFOB Masters Workshop March 16-17 at the University of Arizona Poetry Center.

Only the 50 semifinalists in the contest will be invited to take part in the workshop. The workshop is an invitation-only conference with a tuition fee of $300.

Instruction will be provided by five authors featured at the 2015 Festival of Books. Two faculty members have been confirmed for the Masters Workshop: T. Greenwood and Marilyn Nelson.

T. Greenwood is the author of eight novels, including her newest, Breathing Water, and Bodies of Water, This Glittering World, and Nearer Than the Sky. Two Rivers and Grace were both named Best General Fiction Book at the San Diego Book Awards. Her awards include grants from the Maryland State Arts Council and the National Endowment for the Arts. She teaches creative writing for San Diego Writer’s ink and Grossmont College. The New York Times Book Review describes Greenwood as “an assured guide through … strange territory; she has a lush, evocative style.”

Marilyn Nelson is the author or translator of over 24 books. Her latest is Faster Than Light: New and Selected Poems, 1996-2011. She was awarded the Poetry Society of America’s Frost Medal for distinguished lifetime achievement in poetry. The Homeplace and The Fields of Praise: New and Selected Poems were finalists for the National Book Award. Other honors include fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, a Fulbright Teaching Fellowship, and a fellowship from the Guggenheim Foundation. She was the Poet Laureate of the State of Connecticut. Poet Mark Doty says, “Nelson’s bold and sure poems long for heaven and—happily for us—continue a lifelong affair with the occasions of earth.”

For information not listed below, contact Meg Files at or (520) 206-6084.

Submission Guidelines:

  • Submit five poems of any length, a short story or novel chapter, or a nonfiction piece or book chapter.
  • Categories NOT accepted: stories for children or young adults, academic or how-to nonfiction.
  • Maximum length for prose is 5,000 words.
  • Submissions must be in English and unpublished (self-published allowed).
  • Writers must be age 18 or older.
  • $20 entry fee per submission
  • One submission per category
  • The author’s name must not appear anywhere on the manuscript. (All manuscripts will be read blindly; readers and final judges will not see writers’ names or cover letters.) Include cover-letter information in the “Comments” box when you submit the manuscript.
  • Authors retain all rights to submitted work.
  • Winning entries will not be published.

Submission Deadline: November 18th, 2014

Submission Details:

Named Sponsors

Arizona Daily Star
University of Arizona

Presenting Sponsors

University of Arizona Medical Center

Major Sponsors

Friend of the Festival
Helios Education Foundation
Stocker Foundation
University of Arizona BookStores

Key Sponsors

Cox Communications
Marshall Foundation
Miriam Brucker Trust
Sub-Zero / Wolf

Become a Sponsor

Sponsor Information Sheet

To become a sponsor, please email Marcy Euler.

Show sponsors