University of Arizona Campus  •  March 2 - 3, 2019  •  9:30am to 5:30pm
Show sidebar contents
Want to help support literacy in Southern Arizona?
Become a Friend Now!
eNEWSLETTER SIGN-UP
Email:
First:
Last:
Security:

Robin LaFevers


New York Times best-selling author Robin LaFevers was raised on a steady diet of fairy tales, Bulfinch’s mythology, and 19th century poetry. It is not surprising she grew up to be a hopeless romantic. She also spent a large portion of her life being told she was making up things that weren’t there, which only proves she was destined to write fiction. She is the author of 17 books for young readers, including the critically-acclaimed His Fair Assassin trilogy—"Grave Mercy," "Dark Triumph" and "Mortal Heart," which received starred reviews from School Library Journal, Booklist, Publisher’s Weekly and Kirkus. The first book in a new duology set in the His Fair Assassin world, "Courting Darkness," will be out in February 2019. She is also the author of the Theodosia and Nathaniel Fludd, Beastologist series.

Though Robin has never trained as an assassin or joined a convent, she has been on a search for answers to life’s mysteries for as long as she can remember. She finds them mostly in books.

Visit website | Facebook Twitter


Scheduled events:
Robin LaFevers
Courting Darkness (Courting Darkness Duology) - First in a duology set in the world of LaFevers' bestselling His Fair Assassin series. When Sybella learns that another trained assassin from St. Mortain's convent is undercover in the French court, she must find her sister in arms before her time.

MOSTLY BOOKS, Booth #240 (Seats 1)  View this venue on the Festival map
Sat, Mar 2, 12:00 pm - 12:30 pm
Children / Teens

Author: Robin LaFevers
Worlds within Worlds: YA Fantasy
Two YA authors explore the ways in which they layer fantasy worlds with history or contemporary life to provide a context for their female characters to act with agency. "Courting Darkness" by Robin LaFevers and "Grim Lovelies" by Megan Shepard are featured.

Teen & Author Stage (Seats 88)  View this venue on the Festival map
Sat, Mar 2, 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Children / Teens
Signing area: Sales & Signing Area - Teen and Author Stage (following presentation)  View this venue on the Festival map

Panelists: Robin LaFevers, Megan Shepherd
Moderators: Cydne Bolton, Nancy Webber-Graff
Teen Audio Interview with Robin LaFevers
A small group of teens who have read this author's newest book will interview the author to create a podcast to post on the library website and the festival website.

AZPM - Teen Audio Interviews (not a public venue)
Sat, Mar 2, 3:30 pm - 4:15 pm
Children / Teens

Panelist: Robin LaFevers
Moderator: Amy Morris
Heart-Stopping Thrillers: YA Characters Fighting to Survive
Experience the spine-tingling thrill of YA books in which characters must fight to survive and solve the mysteries that bring danger into their lives. Whether the setting is space, a fantasy world, the desert or a high school, these page-turners keep you at the edge of your seat.

Education Kiva 211 (Seats 200)  View this venue on the Festival map
Sun, Mar 3, 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Children / Teens
Signing area: Signing Area - Children / Teen (following presentation)  View this venue on the Festival map

Panelists: Robin LaFevers, Karen McManus, Kass Morgan, Sonja Stone
Moderator: Michelle Mohrweis
Sequels and Spin-Offs in YA Literature
Trilogies and series have long been popular in YA literature. An interesting trend are books which take a minor character or world from one series to create a whole new series that is a spin-off of the original series. Three authors will talk about their use of sequels and spin-offs in their writing of fantasy.

Education Room 333 (Seats 40, Wheelchair accessible)  View this venue on the Festival map
Sun, Mar 3, 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Children / Teens
Signing area: Signing Area - Children / Teen (following presentation)  View this venue on the Festival map

Panelists: Rae Carson, Dhonielle Clayton, Robin LaFevers, Lisa McMann
Moderator: Janni Lee Simner

Books:
Courting Darkness
Children / Teens
HMH Books for Young Readers
February 2019
ISBN 9780544991194
512 pages
$17.99, INSTORE
Buy now

First in a duology, this darkly thrilling page-turner set in the world of the best-selling His Fair Assassin series is perfect for fans of THRONE OF GLASS, RED QUEEN, and GAME OF THRONES. More/less

Grave Mercy
Children / Teens
HMH Books for Young Readers
October 2018
ISBN 9781328567659
576 pages
$10.99, INSTORE
Buy now

Enter the world of female assassins and join the daughters of Death in this first book of the New York Times best-selling His Fair Assassin series by Robin LaFevers. More/less

Named Sponsors

Arizona Daily Star
University of Arizona

Presenting Sponsors

Tucson Medical Center

Major Sponsors

Friends of the Festival
Pima County Public Library
Stocker Foundation
University of Arizona BookStores
University of Arizona - Facilities Management
Western National Parks Association
William & Mary Ross Foundation

Key Sponsors

Arizona Office Technologies
Arizona Wholesale Supply
Marshall Foundation

Show sponsors