University of Arizona Campus  •  March 10 - 11, 2018  •  9:30am to 5:30pm
Show sidebar contents

Save the date for 2018!

March 10-11, 2018 (9:30am - 5:30pm)

And the Winner Is ......

Winning a major national award brings recognition to authors and illustrators and their books, but these awards both positively and negatively reflect societal issues and biases. Winners of the Newbery Award, the National Book Award, and the Pura Belpre Award for Narrative and for Illustration will talk about their varying perspectives and experiences with these awards. Assistive listening devices available.

Kelly Barnhill

Kelly Barnhill is the author of four novels, most recently "The Girl Who Drank the Moon," winner of the 2017 John Newbery Medal for the year's most distinguished contribution to American literature for children....

Visit website | Twitter

Larry Dane Brimner

Larry Dane Brimner is a full-time writer and the author of more than 200 books for children. Recipient of the Carter G. Woodson Award and Robert F. Sibert Honor. When he isn’t writing, he lives in Tucson and San Diego and is a much-sought-after speaker at schools and at conferences....

Visit website | Facebook

Margarita Engle

Margarita Engle is the national Young People's Poet Laureate and the Cuban-American author of many award-winning verse novels and picture books. She also wrote the Pura Belpré Medal-winning verse memoir, "Enchanted Air....

Visit website | Facebook

Rafael López

Rafael López is an internationally recognized children's book illustrator. He won the 2016 Pura Belpré Medal for his illustrations in "Drum Dream Girl" and the 2010 Pura Belpré medal for "Book Fiesta....

Visit website

Named Sponsors

Arizona Daily Star
University of Arizona

Presenting Sponsors

Tucson Medical Center

Major Sponsors

Friend of the Festival
Pima County Public Library
Stocker Foundation
University of Arizona BookStores
Western National Parks Association
William & Mary Ross Foundation
University of Arizona - Facilities Management

Key Sponsors

Brucker Trust
Marshall Foundation
Monark Premium Appliance Company

Show sponsors