University of Arizona Campus  •  March 10 - 11, 2018  •  9:30am to 5:30pm
Show sidebar contents

Scottie Jones

Friends of the Festival

Scottie Jones lived a typical suburban, professional life in Phoenix until her husband was involved in a near-fatal car accident. While he was recovering, they decided they needed a simpler way of life. They bought a peaceful-looking, 60-acre farm in Oregon. "Country Grit" is Scottie's story, a memoir describing the good, bad and ugly of her transition from city girl to farmer. She also serves as executive director of the U.S. Farm Stay Association, a nationwide network of farmhouses that offer lodging and rural experiences to visitors.

Visit website | Facebook Twitter

Scheduled events:
For the Memoirist, It's Personal
Andrea Avery, Scottie Jones and Nicole Walker are memoirists who share three very different yet deeply personal experiences. How did they decide how much of their lives to share? Assistive listening devices available.

Student Union Kachina (Seats 100)  View this venue on the Festival map
Sat, Mar 10, 11:30 am - 12:30 pm
Memoir / Essays / Creative Nonfiction
Signing area: Sales & Signing Area - UA BookStore Tent (on Mall) (following presentation)  View this venue on the Festival map

Panelists: Andrea Avery, Scottie Jones, Nicole Walker
Moderator: Edie Jarolim

Country Grit
Memoir / Essays / Creative Nonfiction
Skyhorse Publishing
September 2017
ISBN 9781510722149
$24.99, INSTORE
Buy now

For Fans of Barbara Kingsolver's Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, a Memoir about Leaving the City Behind for a Life on a Farm.

Named Sponsors

Arizona Daily Star
University of Arizona

Presenting Sponsors

Tucson Medical Center

Major Sponsors

Friend of the Festival
Pima County Public Library
Stocker Foundation
University of Arizona BookStores
Western National Parks Association
William & Mary Ross Foundation
University of Arizona - Facilities Management

Key Sponsors

Brucker Trust
Marshall Foundation
Monark Premium Appliance Company

Show sponsors