University of Arizona Campus  •  March 10 - 11, 2018  •  9:30am to 5:30pm
Show sidebar contents

Carrie La Seur

Dewey Vanderhoff at Trail Town

Blue Cross / Blue Shield of Arizona

Carrie La Seur’s critically acclaimed debut novel, “The Home Place,” won the High Plains Book Award, was short-listed for the Strand Critics Award for Best First Novel and was an IndieNext pick, a Library Journal pick, one of the Great Falls Tribune’s Top 10 Montana Books for 2014 and a Florida SunSentinel Best Crime Fiction pick for 2014. Carrie has completed the Iowa Writers’ Workshop Summer Session and was a Tennessee Williams Scholar at the 2016 Sewanee Writers’ Conference.

Carrie’s résumé includes a degree in English and French magna cum laude from Bryn Mawr College, a Rhodes Scholarship, a doctorate in modern languages from Oxford University, and a Yale law degree.

In 2006, Carrie founded the legal nonprofit, Plains Justice, which provides public interest energy and environmental legal services in the northern plains states and played a key role in halting several new coal plants, enacting clean energy reforms and launching the Keystone XL pipeline campaign. Carrie maintains a part-time energy and environmental law practice in Montana, where her ancestors settled in 1864. A licensed private pilot and committed introvert, she loves to hike, ski and fish the Montana wilderness with her family.

Visit website | Facebook Twitter

Scheduled events:
Going Home
Carrie La Suer, Melissa Scholes Young and Michel Stone, three critically-acclaimed authors, discuss their protagonists and the challenges they face when coming home. Such as suffocating expectations, burdens of family legacy, secrets, human bonds that cannot be broken, racial tensions, childhood traumas and the worst mistakes of their pasts. Assistive listening devices available.

Student Union Tucson Room (Seats 110)  View this venue on the Festival map
Sat, Mar 10, 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Fiction / Literature
Signing area: Sales & Signing Area - UA BookStore Tent (on Mall) (following presentation)  View this venue on the Festival map

Panelists: Carrie La Seur, Melissa Scholes Young, Michel Stone
Moderator: Naomi Benaron
Sophomore Books
Discover how authors tackle writing their second book while also continuing to promote their first book, handle their nerves about writing another book and not burning out. This panel will feature two mystery authors and two fiction authors. Assistive listening devices available.

Koffler Room 216 (Seats 89, Wheelchair accessible)  View this venue on the Festival map
Sat, Mar 10, 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm
Signing area: Sales & Signing Area - Koffler Patio (following presentation)  View this venue on the Festival map

Panelists: Shannon Baker, Carrie La Seur, Isabella Maldonado, Cynthia Swanson
Moderator: James Reel
Literature Inspiring Literature
Past literary masterpieces continue to inspire a new generation of best-selling authors. From Shakespeare to Emily Dickinson, beloved past characters are re-imagined in endearing and haunting new ways. Assistive listening devices available.

Integrated Learning Center Room 120 (Seats 300, Wheelchair accessible)  View this venue on the Festival map
Sun, Mar 11, 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Fiction / Literature
Signing area: Sales & Signing Area - Integrated Learning Center (following presentation)  View this venue on the Festival map

Panelists: Chris Bohjalian, Carrie La Seur, Melissa Scholes Young
Moderator: Laura Talarsky Stevens

The Weight of an Infinite Sky
Fiction / Literature
William Morrow & Co.
January 2018
ISBN 9780062323477
Hardcover, 272 pages
$26.99, INSTORE
Buy now

The critically acclaimed author of The Home Place explores the heart and mystery of Big Sky Country in this evocative and atmospheric novel of family, home, love, and responsibility inspired by William Shakespeare’s Hamlet. More/less

The Home Place
Fiction / Literature
William Morrow & Co.
March 2015
ISBN 9780062323453
Paperback, 320 pages
$14.99, INSTORE
Buy now

Carrie La Seur makes her remarkable debut with The Home Place, a mesmerizing, emotionally evocative, and atmospheric literary novel in the vein of The House Girl and A Land More Kind Than Home, in which a successful lawyer is pulled back into her troubled family’s life in rural Montana in the wake of her sister’s death. More/less

Named Sponsors

Arizona Daily Star
University of Arizona

Presenting Sponsors

Tucson Medical Center

Major Sponsors

Friend of the Festival
Pima County Public Library
Stocker Foundation
University of Arizona BookStores
Western National Parks Association
William & Mary Ross Foundation
University of Arizona - Facilities Management

Key Sponsors

Brucker Trust
Marshall Foundation
Monark Premium Appliance Company

Show sponsors