Tucson Festival of Books

Anne Hillerman

Jean Fogelberg

Sponsored by Mesch, Clark & Rothschild

Anne Hillerman is The New York Times best-selling author of the Leaphorn/Chee/Manuelito mysteries.  After many years as a newspaper and magazine reporter, editor and columnist, she began to write nonfiction books. Her first efforts focused on travel, restaurants and New Mexico points of interest. She and photographer Don Strel created the award-winning "Tony Hillerman’s Landscape," capturing in words and pictures the places her father wrote about in his many years of Leaphorn/Chee mysteries. In preparation for writing that nonfiction book, Hillerman closely re-read each of her father’s 19 Joe Leaphorn/Jim Chee mysteries, a labor of joy which prepared her to launch a new career as a novelist after Tony’s death.

She published her first mystery, "Spider Woman’s Daughter," in 2013 and was surprised and delighted that it debuted on The New York Times top-ten best-seller list and received numerous awards. She deeply appreciates the welcome reception the fans of Tony Hillerman gave her and her lead detective, Bernadette Manuelito. Her eighth novel, and the 26th book in the series, "The Way of the Bear," received top honors from Southwest Book Awards and was a finalist as best mystery and best crime fiction. She looks forward to the celebration of her next mystery, "Lost Birds," arriving in April 2024, from Harper Collins.

Her work has been praised for adding contemporary touches to the Hillerman series, including a strong woman protagonist, Navajo Officer Bernadette Manuelito. All of Hillerman's books are New York Times best-sellers. AMC's popular "Dark Winds" television series is based on the Hillerman books.

The eldest of Tony and Marie Hillerman's six children, Hilerman grew up in Santa Fe, N.M., and Albuquerque, N.M., and graduated from the University of New Mexico. She now lives in Santa Fe, N.M., and Tucson, Ariz., and has a deep passion for public libraries and programs that help people of all ages and backgrounds learn to read.

Visit website | Facebook

Awards: Southwest Book Design and Production Award 2023 & 2023; Spur Award for Best Novel; New Mexico/Arizona Book Award for Best Book of the Year, and Best Mystery and Crime Fiction; Rounders Award Presented by the NM Secretary of Agriculture, New Mexico Representative at the National Festival of the Book , Library of Congress, Washington, D.C., Frank Waters Award for contributions to Southwestern Literature, Oklahoma Native Daughter Award, Mountains and Plains Independent Booksellers Award.

Communities: Arizona Author, Tucsonan, Long-time New Mexican with a home in Santa Fe

Scheduled events:
Women of Mystery
Ain’t no delicate flowers here! Three expert mystery writers share the thrills and chills of writing compelling mystery novels.

UA Mall Tent (Seats 250)  View this venue on the Festival map
Sat, Mar 9, 11:30 am - 12:30 pm
Mystery / Thrillers
Signing area: Sales & Signing Area - Central Mall (following presentation)  View this venue on the Festival map

Panelists: Cara Black, Anne Hillerman, Becky Masterman
Moderator: Erica Ruth Neubauer
Mystery Series: Character Evolution
We love the characters, whether they are private eyes in Paris or southern Cal or police on the Navajo Nation. We can’t wait for their next adventures. But how do authors keep our interest in characters who appear in book after book? Three bestselling authors of mystery series share how they develop characters and storylines that keep fans returning.

Koffler Room 204 (Seats 300, Wheelchair accessible)  View this venue on the Festival map
Sat, Mar 9, 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Mystery / Thrillers
Signing area: Sales & Signing Area - UA BookStore Tent (on Mall) (following presentation)  View this venue on the Festival map

Panelists: Cara Black, Anne Hillerman, Joe Ide
Moderator: Hank Phillippi Ryan

The Way of the Bear
A Novel
Mystery / Thrillers
HarperCollins Publishers
January 2024
ISBN 9780063313972
288 pages
Buy now

The Sacred Bridge
A Leaphorn, Chee and Manuelito Novel
Mystery / Thrillers
HarperCollins Publishers
January 2023
ISBN 9780062908377
400 pages
Buy now