March 12-13 2022, 9:30-5:30, on the beautiful University of Arizona campus!

Naomi Hirahara

Naomi Hirahara is an Edgar Award-winning author of multiple traditional mystery series and noir short stories. Her Mas Arai mysteries, which have been published in Japanese, Korean and French, feature a Los Angeles gardener and Hiroshima survivor who solves crimes. The seventh and final Mas Arai mystery is "Hiroshima Boy," which was nominated for an Edgar Award for best paperback original. Her first historical mystery is "Clark and Division," which follows a Japanese American family’s move to Chicago in 1944 after being released from a California wartime detention center. Her second Leilani Santiago Hawai‘i mystery, "An Eternal Lei," is scheduled to be released in 2022. A former journalist with The Rafu Shimpo newspaper, Hiragara has also written numerous non-fiction history books and curated exhibitions. She has also written a middle-grade novel, "1001 Cranes."

Visit website | Facebook Twitter Google+

An Eternal Lei
A Leilani Santiago Hawai'i Mystery
Mystery / Thrillers
Prospect Park Books, LLC
January 2022
ISBN 9781684427970

Clark and Division
Mystery / Thrillers
Soho Press
January 2021
ISBN 9781641292498
312 pages

Named Sponsors

Arizona Daily Star
University of Arizona

Presenting Sponsors

Tucson Medical Center

Major Sponsors

Friends of the Festival
Pima County Public Library
Stocker Foundation
University of Arizona BookStores
University of Arizona - Facilities Management

Key Sponsors

Marshall Foundation

Want to help support literacy in Southern Arizona?
Become a Friend Now!
Show sponsors