University of Arizona Campus  •  March 14 -15, 2020  •  9:30am to 5:30pm

Writing Contest Winners

The book festival's annual Literary Awards Writing Competition attracted a record 747 entries this year, and three of the winners be with us today to discuss their work and their plans for the future.

Jane Craven

Jane Craven is a Literary Awards poetry winner. She earned an MFA in Creative Writing from North Carolina State University where she was the recipient of a Colleges and Universities Academy of American Poets Prize....

Visit website

Jenny Davis

Jenny Fran Davis is the first-place Literary Awards winner in nonfiction. She is an MFA candidate at the University of Iowa, where she is an Iowa Arts Fellow. She is the author of the novel "Everything Must Go....

Visit website

Tara Deal

Tara Deal is the first-place Literary Awards winner in fiction. She is the author of two award-wining novellas, "That Night Alive" and "Palms Are Not Trees After All." Her work has also appeared in American Literary Review, Passages North, Tampa Review Online and Washington Square Review, among others....

Visit website | Facebook

Named Sponsors

Arizona Daily Star
University of Arizona

Presenting Sponsors

Tucson Medical Center

Major Sponsors

Friends of the Festival
Pima County Public Library
Stocker Foundation
University of Arizona BookStores
University of Arizona - Facilities Management
Western National Parks Association
William & Mary Ross Foundation

Key Sponsors

Arizona Party Rental Companies
Arizona Wholesale Supply
Early Childhood Learning is Essential
Marshall Foundation
Tucson Electric Power Co.

Want to help support literacy in Southern Arizona?
Become a Friend Now!
Show sponsors