University of Arizona Campus  •  March 14 -15, 2020  •  9:30am to 5:30pm

Southwest Books of the Year

Each year the Pima County Public Library honors the Southwest Books of the Year, and this session will feature four of this year's winners.

Aaron Bobrow-Strain

Aaron Bobrow-Strain is a professor of politics at Whitman College, where he teaches courses on food, immigration and the U.S.-Mexico border. He is the author of "The Death and Life of Aida Hernandez," "White Bread: A Social History of the Store-Bought Loaf" and "Intimate Enemies: Landowners, Power, and Violence in Chiapas....

Visit website

Bill Broyles

Bill Broyles recently retired from 31 years of teaching English, physical education and philosophy to high school students in Tucson. The unofficial “keeper of the desert,” Broyles is a member of the board of directors and works full-time as the unpaid coordinator of the Sonoran Desert National Park Project....

Visit website

Bruce Dinges

Bruce J. Dinges is the former director of publications and editor of the Arizona Historical Society’s Journal of Arizona History. He is also the author of numerous articles and the editor of several books on Southwestern and Civil War history....

Téa Obreht

Téa Obreht is the author of "The Tiger’s Wife," a finalist for the National Book Award and winner of the 2011 Orange Prize for Fiction. An international bestseller, it has sold over a million copies worldwide, with rights sold in 37 countries....

Visit website

Named Sponsors

Arizona Daily Star
University of Arizona

Presenting Sponsors

Tucson Medical Center

Major Sponsors

Friends of the Festival
Pima County Public Library
Stocker Foundation
University of Arizona BookStores
University of Arizona - Facilities Management
Western National Parks Association
William & Mary Ross Foundation

Key Sponsors

Arizona Party Rental Companies
Arizona Wholesale Supply
Early Childhood Learning is Essential
Marshall Foundation
Tucson Electric Power Co.

Want to help support literacy in Southern Arizona?
Become a Friend Now!
Show sponsors