Tucson Festival of Books

A Sense of Place


Novelists learned long ago that the right setting is critical in the telling of a tale. This is particularly true in mysteries. Today, in fact, authors Cara Black, Karen Odden and Stacy Willingham will describe stories that use setting as an important character.


Panelists
Cara Black

Cara Black's love of all things French was kindled by the French-speaking nuns at her Catholic high school. This was also where Black first encountered French literature and went crazy for the work of Prix Goncourt winner Romain Gary....

Visit website | Facebook Twitter Instagram

Karen Odden

Karen Odden received her Ph.D. in English literature from New York University and subsequently taught at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Her first novel, "A Lady in the Smoke," was a USA Today bestseller and "A Dangerous Duet" and "A Trace of Deceit" have won awards for historical mystery and historical fiction....

Visit website | Facebook Twitter Instagram

Stacy Willingham

Stacy Willingham is the New York Times, USA Today and internationally bestselling author of "A Flicker in the Dark," as well as her new novel "All The Dangerous Things." Before turning to fiction, she was a copywriter and brand strategist for various marketing agencies and earned her Bachelor of Arts in magazine journalism from the University of Georgia and MFA in writing from the Savannah College of Art and Design....

Visit website | Facebook Twitter


Books:
Night Flight to Paris
Cara Black
Mystery / Thrillers
Soho Press, Incorporated
March 2023
ISBN 9781641293556
336 pages

Under a Veiled Moon
Karen Odden
Mystery / Thrillers
Crooked Lane Books
October 2022
ISBN 9781639101191
336 pages

In the tradition of C. S. Harris and Anne Perry, a fatal disaster on the Thames and a roiling political conflict set the stage for Karen Odden’s second Inspector Corravan historical mystery. More/less

All the Dangerous Things
Stacy Willingham
Mystery / Thrillers
St. Martin's Publishing Group
January 2023
ISBN 9781250803856
336 pages