University of Arizona Campus  •  March 2 - 3, 2019  •  9:30am to 5:30pm
Show sidebar contents
Want to help support literacy in Southern Arizona?
Become a Friend Now!
eNEWSLETTER SIGN-UP
Email:
First:
Last:
Security:

Rebecca Clarren


Rebecca Clarren is an award-winning investigative reporter and writer who has been writing about the American West, its denizens and its landscapes, for the past 20 years. Her journalism has won the Hillman Prize, an Alicia Patterson Foundation Fellowship, and nine grants from the Fund for Investigative Journalism and has appeared in such publications as Mother Jones, High Country News, The Nation and Salon.com. Her debut novel, "Kickdown" was shortlisted for the PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction. She lives in Portland, Oregon with her husband and two young sons.

Visit website | Twitter


Scheduled events:
The Ranchers’ Lament
Is ranching the future of the West, or will pressures from all directions — like developers, environmentalists, climate change and tourism — render the family ranch a thing of the past? Two prize-winning journalists discuss forces impacting this traditional Western way of life.

UA Library - Special Collections (Seats 100)  View this venue on the Festival map
Sun, Mar 3, 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Multigenre
Signing area: Sales & Signing Area - Integrated Learning Center (following presentation)  View this venue on the Festival map

Panelists: John Branch, Rebecca Clarren
Moderator: Stuart Rosebrook
Strength From Kindness
Four acclaimed authors will explore their characters' journey through hardship by creating an enriching community that highlights all of the good that humanity can offer.

Integrated Learning Center Room 120 (Seats 300, Wheelchair accessible)  View this venue on the Festival map
Sun, Mar 3, 2:30 pm - 3:30 pm
Fiction / Literature
Signing area: Sales & Signing Area - Integrated Learning Center (following presentation)  View this venue on the Festival map

Panelists: Elizabeth Berg, Rebecca Clarren, Leif Enger, Daniel Gumbiner
Moderator: Douglas Mitchell

Book:
Kickdown
Fiction / Literature
Skyhorse/Arcade
September 2018
ISBN 9781628729672
232 pages
$24.99, INSTORE
Buy now

For fans of Kent Haruf and E Annie Proulx, a taut and moving novel of a family's struggle to sustain their land when fracking comes to the contemporary American West.

Named Sponsors

Arizona Daily Star
University of Arizona

Presenting Sponsors

Tucson Medical Center

Major Sponsors

Friends of the Festival
Pima County Public Library
Stocker Foundation
University of Arizona BookStores
University of Arizona - Facilities Management
Western National Parks Association
William & Mary Ross Foundation

Key Sponsors

Arizona Office Technologies
Arizona Wholesale Supply
Marshall Foundation

Show sponsors