University of Arizona Campus  •  March 14 -15, 2020  •  9:30am to 5:30pm
Show sidebar contents
Want to help support literacy in Southern Arizona?
Become a Friend Now!
eNEWSLETTER SIGN-UP
Email:
First:
Last:

Pablo Cartaya


Pablo Cartaya is an award-winning author, speaker, actor and educator. He received a Pura Belpré Honor for his critically-acclaimed debut novel, "The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora." NBC News lauded his sophomore novel, "Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish," as "exceptional" and The New York Times Book Review called it "a love song to the people of Puerto Rico." His most recent novel is "Each Tiny Spark," which was described as a "layered, culturally rich novel" by Publishers Weekly in a starred review. His novels explore identity, place and the spaces in-between.

Visit website | Facebook Twitter


Books:
Each Tiny Spark
Children / Teens
Kokila/Penguin Young Readers
August 2019
ISBN 9780451479723
336 pages
$16.99, INSTOCK
Buy now

Sixth-grader Emilia Torres struggles with ADHD, her controlling abuela, her mother's work commitments, her father's distance after returning from deployment, evolving friendships, and a conflict over school redistricting.

Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish
Children / Teens
Puffin Books/Penguin Young Readers
July 2019
ISBN 9781101997284
288 pages
$8.99, INSTOCK
Buy now

One boy's search for his father leads him to Puerto Rico in this moving middle-grade novel, for fans of Ghost and See You in the Cosmos. More/less

Named Sponsors

Arizona Daily Star
University of Arizona

Presenting Sponsors

Tucson Medical Center

Major Sponsors

Friends of the Festival
Pima County Public Library
Stocker Foundation
University of Arizona BookStores
University of Arizona - Facilities Management
Western National Parks Association
William & Mary Ross Foundation

Key Sponsors

Arizona Wholesale Supply
Marshall Foundation
Arizona Party Rental Companies

Show sponsors