Tucson Festival of Books

Karen Odden


Karen Odden received her Ph.D. in English literature from New York University and subsequently taught at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Her first novel, "A Lady in the Smoke," was a USA Today bestseller and "A Dangerous Duet" and "A Trace of Deceit" have won awards for historical mystery and historical fiction. Down a Dark River (2021) introduces readers to Michael Corravan, a former thief and bare-knuckles boxer from Whitechapel, now a Scotland Yard Inspector in 1878 London. The sequel, Under a Veiled Moon (2022) has been nominated for a Lefty Award. 

Visit website | Facebook Twitter Instagram

Awards: New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards for Historical Fiction and Mystery, and winner of 2021 Grant from Arizona Commission on the Arts

Communities: Arizona Author


Scheduled events:
History Mystery
Books by Cara Black, John Copenhaver and Karen Odden take us back -- way back -- and give us a glimpse at murder and mayhem through the ages. How much historical research must they do? How are history mysteries different? So many questions!

Student Union Kachina (Seats 100)  View this venue on the Festival map
Sat, Mar 4, 11:30 am - 12:30 pm
Mystery / Thrillers
Signing area: Sales & Signing Area - UA BookStore Tent (on Mall) (following presentation)  View this venue on the Festival map

Panelists: Cara Black, John Copenhaver, Karen Odden
Moderator: Holly Rosen
Haunting Stories
The world we may not see is often scarier than the one we know. Just ask Ramona Emerson, Charlaine Harris and Silvia Moreno-Garcia. Each comes to the festival with a book that visits a world beyond. Come join in! We promise to leave the lights on.

Student Union North Ballroom (Seats 560)  View this venue on the Festival map
Sat, Mar 4, 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Multigenre
Signing area: Sales & Signing Area - Rincon Room (following presentation)  View this venue on the Festival map

Panelists: Ramona Emerson, Charlaine Harris, Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Moderator: Karen Odden
A Sense of Place
Novelists learned long ago that the right setting is critical in the telling of a tale. This is particularly true in mysteries. Today, in fact, authors Cara Black, Karen Odden and Stacy Willingham will describe stories that use setting as an important character.

Student Union Santa Rita (Seats 110)  View this venue on the Festival map
Sun, Mar 5, 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Mystery / Thrillers
Signing area: Sales & Signing Area - UA BookStore Tent (on Mall) (following presentation)  View this venue on the Festival map

Panelists: Cara Black, Karen Odden, Stacy Willingham
Moderator: Cayce Blanchard

Books:
Under a Veiled Moon
Mystery / Thrillers
Crooked Lane Books
October 2022
ISBN 9781639101191
336 pages

In the tradition of C. S. Harris and Anne Perry, a fatal disaster on the Thames and a roiling political conflict set the stage for Karen Odden’s second Inspector Corravan historical mystery. More/less

Down a Dark River
Mystery / Thrillers
Crooked Lane Books
November 2021
ISBN 9781643858692
336 pages
$26.99
Buy now