Sagebrush and Subplots

The Old West provides novelists with an interesting stage and true characters, and these three authors—Tea Obreht, Elizabeth Crook and Nancy E. Turner—take full advantage in their recent books. Could these tales have been told in a different time or different place? Let's ask!

Elizabeth Crook

Elizabeth Crook is the author of five novels, including "The Night Journal," which received the Spur Award from Western Writers of America, "Monday, Monday," a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2014 and winner of the Jesse H....

Visit website | Facebook

Téa Obreht

Téa Obreht is the author of "The Tiger’s Wife," a finalist for the National Book Award and winner of the 2011 Orange Prize for Fiction. An international bestseller, it has sold over a million copies worldwide, with rights sold in 37 countries....

Visit website

Nancy Turner

Arizonan Nancy Turner did not turn her attention to writing until after her children were grown, but she has since become well-known for her portrayal of women in the Old West. A graduate of the University of Arizona and Pima County Community College, her credits include "These is my Words," "Sarah's Quilt," "The Star Garden," "The Water and the Blood," and "My Name is Resolute....


Named Sponsors

Arizona Daily Star
University of Arizona

Presenting Sponsors

Tucson Medical Center

Major Sponsors

Friends of the Festival
Pima County Public Library
Stocker Foundation
University of Arizona BookStores
University of Arizona - Facilities Management
Western National Parks Association
William & Mary Ross Foundation

Key Sponsors

Arizona Party Rental Companies
Arizona Wholesale Supply
Early Childhood Learning is Essential
Marshall Foundation
Tucson Electric Power Co.

Want to help support literacy in Southern Arizona?
Become a Friend Now!
Show sponsors