Tucson Festival of Books

History Mystery


Books by Cara Black, John Copenhaver and Karen Odden take us back -- way back -- and give us a glimpse at murder and mayhem through the ages. How much historical research must they do? How are history mysteries different? So many questions!


Panelists
Cara Black

Cara Black's love of all things French was kindled by the French-speaking nuns at her Catholic high school. This was also where Black first encountered French literature and went crazy for the work of Prix Goncourt winner Romain Gary....

Visit website | Facebook Twitter Instagram

John Copenhaver

John Copenhaver’s historical crime novel, "Dodging and Burning," won the 2019 Macavity Award for Best First Mystery Novel, and his second novel, "The Savage Kind," won the 2021 Lambda Literary Award for Best LGBTQ Mystery....

Visit website | Facebook Twitter Instagram

Karen Odden

Karen Odden received her Ph.D. in English literature from New York University and subsequently taught at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Her first novel, "A Lady in the Smoke," was a USA Today bestseller and "A Dangerous Duet" and "A Trace of Deceit" have won awards for historical mystery and historical fiction....

Visit website | Facebook Twitter Instagram


Books:
Night Flight to Paris
Cara Black
Mystery / Thrillers
Soho Press, Incorporated
March 2023
ISBN 9781641293556
336 pages

The Savage Kind
A Mystery
John Copenhaver
Mystery / Thrillers
Pegasus Books
October 2021
ISBN 9781643138091
352 pages

Under a Veiled Moon
Karen Odden
Mystery / Thrillers
Crooked Lane Books
October 2022
ISBN 9781639101191
336 pages

In the tradition of C. S. Harris and Anne Perry, a fatal disaster on the Thames and a roiling political conflict set the stage for Karen Odden’s second Inspector Corravan historical mystery. More/less